Spicing it up!: Chocolate and Paprika Cake

Image

 

Recently I’ve felt a bit stuck-in-a-rut, baking wise. I’ve largely been sticking with what I know, or using up whatever has been kicking around the kitchen. It’s fine, but it leaves me a bit twitchy and unsatisfied. So I went in search of something a bit different from the norm.

I’ve been on a bit of a paprika kick recently, especially since picking up a box of really lovely smoked stuff – it’s tangy, sweet and rich, and I really can’t get enough of it. The Cake Spy has a lovely recipe for a Chocolate and Paprika cake, which I used as the basis of my cake. I didn’t stray from the recipe too much, but I did make a few changes; I made it as a one-layer cake (I was making this for the family, and transporting a double-decker cake on the train doesn’t bare thinking about), and significantly reduced the quantity of icing! It ended up rich, dense and delicious – but I think the cake could take a bit more paprika, to be honest.

Chocolate Paprika Cake (serves 8 – 10)

Ingredients For the Cake:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 0.75 cups vegetable oil (I used sunflower oil)
  • 0.5 cup dark cocoa
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1 ½ tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp chili
  • 0.75 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1.5  cups strong brewed coffee
  • 30g dark chocolate chunks

Baking Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Grease one 8 inch pan with butter
  3.  Combine all ingredients except for flour and coffee into a large mixer bowl and mix until the batter is shiny and everything is incorporated.  Alternately add flour and coffee a cup at a time starting with the flour. When everything has been added, scrape down sides of bowl and mix on speed 3 for one minute. Stir in the chocolate chunks.
  4. Pour contents into prepared pans and bake for 55 minutes.  Remove from pan and let cool.

Ingredients For the Icing:

  • 125g butter (room temp)
  • 250g powdered sugar
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • ½ tsp  each: salt, black pepper

 To make the icing:  Whip butter on high for 5 minutes.  Scrape sides and repeat.  Add powdered sugar a cup at a time with mixer on speed 1.  Add milk, vanilla, and spices.  Whip on speed 3 to incorporate everything fully. Spread the icing over the top of the cake and decorate as pleases you, chill to set the icing 🙂

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

Bead Yarn & Spatula

A Baking, Cooking & Crafting Blog

Roy Ritchie Fitness

Self-educated fitness, nutrition and performance coach that is constantly in pursuit to learn more and share my knowledge and experiences with others.

Food Made With Love

Food cooked and made with all my heart; putting a smile on your face

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

I Heart Swapping

Eco friendly and budget conscience style.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Weights and Wonder

Amazing things around every corner

scarletscorchdroppers

A UK home baking blog

The Spicy Simmer

Find it. Cook it. Love it. Blog it.

Stuff My Brain Thinks

Spiritual Journey to a Better me

..SeriousBacon..

============== A Chef on his Culinary Adventure! ==============

Ramblings from The Trenches

The ramblings of a 30-something wargamer who really should know better by now.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

rhiannon8122

My workout and weight loss journal

The Not So Secret Eater

A 21 year old girl who has decided that enough is enough. My food denial is now in the open!

