Bare cupboard baking: Orange, Cardamom and Poppy Seed Biscuits

It would be fair to say that this week has been fairly full-on at work. It hasn’t been a case of long days, but each day has been manic. I’ve been getting home with no energy left and just wanting to go straight to bed. Yes, I know, moan moan moan! But on Thursday I had to motive myself to do something productive (and pleasant) with my evening, so a spot of baking seemed like a good option.

So what do I have in my cupboard? Ummm… not a lot…  But I had recently read a recipe for Lemon and Caraway Seed Cookies that I liked the sound of, but no Caraway seeds in the house.  But I do have an orange, and I do have poppy seeds (courtesy of my last Foodie Penpal package)… This could work…! Chuck in some cardamom and some mixed peel and we have a fully functioning biscuit recipe. Not only that, but they go really well with coffee!

Image

In the interests of my newly re-acquired will-power I made these on an evening where my OH has his friends over, and they seemed to go down well. And those I brought into the office today have gradually disappeared over the course of the day.

300g Plain Flour

Pinch salt

275g caster sugar

115g slightly salted butter

2 tbs orange juice

1 tbs orange zest

1 egg, beaten

2 tsp poppy seeds

Crushed seeds of 5 cardamom pods

Handful mixed peel

  1. Line a couple of baking sheets with baking parchment
  2. Sift flour into a large bowl and add salt. Rub the butter in until it reaches a breadcrumb texture. Stir in the sugar, juice, zest, poppy seeds, mixed peel and cardamom seeds.
  3. Add egg and mix until it reaches a soft dough.
  4. Roll out on a well floured surface and use a cookie cutter or the rim of a glass to cut to shape. Place on the baking trays with a reasonable amount of space between.
  5. (At this stage you can glaze them with an egg was, but I didn’t for mine. Then sprinkle with sugar)
  6. Bake at 170 c for 10 – 15 minutes.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gesine on 13/07/2012 at 15:20

    how much butter? I MUST BAKE THESE and must therefore knoooow 😉

    Reply

  2. I have all of these ingredients! To the kitchen! [poppyseeds are heavenly].

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bead Yarn & Spatula

A Baking, Cooking & Crafting Blog

Roy Ritchie Fitness

Self-educated fitness, nutrition and performance coach that is constantly in pursuit to learn more and share my knowledge and experiences with others.

Food Made With Love

Food cooked and made with all my heart; putting a smile on your face

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

I Heart Swapping

Eco friendly and budget conscience style.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

scarletscorchdroppers

A UK home baking blog

The Spicy Simmer

Find it. Cook it. Love it. Blog it.

Stuff My Brain Thinks

Spiritual Journey to a Better me

..SeriousBacon..

============== A Chef on his Culinary Adventure! ==============

Ramblings from The Trenches

The ramblings of a 30-something wargamer who really should know better by now.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

rhiannon8122

My workout and weight loss journal

The Not So Secret Eater

A 21 year old girl who has decided that enough is enough. My food denial is now in the open!

