Foodie Penpal – the big reveal!

Image

This is my first month participating in Foodie Penpals โ€“ and we’re off to a great start! My parcel this month came from the lovely Nova McGinty from the North East of England, who supplied all sorts of lovely goodies, local, interesting and unusual. My parcel went to Diary of a Dashing Fashonista, who has written a very kind post re my items ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

ย A Stottie Cake โ€“ A Geordie specialty; this is a lovely, doughy, springy bread which is slightly reminiscent in texture of a really good doughy Nan bread, but much thicker and less oily. It is gorgeous! The OH and I had this warmed slightly, and served it with a Daal soup. And Nova very kindly supplied a recipe for making Stottie cakes, so the OH (bread-master) will be making these very soon. And this time we may wait long enough to make a batch of Peas Pudding to put in them ๐Ÿ™‚

Saspirilla Tablets: To my knowledge I have never had anything saspirilla-like in my life, so I was delighted to have a chance to try these, and they were quite morish. They tasted a bit like really juicy summer fruits mixed with aniseed. I shall have to have a look and see if I can find any around here!

Chocolate, Cherry and Chilli dessert sauce: Nova mentioned that Scrummee Cherry, Chocolate and Chilli Dessert Sauce is made not far from her โ€“ and my goodness it looks great! This should go very nicely with some rich vanilla ice-cream, perhaps with a side of cherries soaked in a little whiskey? Suggestions very welcome!

ย Stockley’s cinder toffee: This is something I’ve always meant to make, but never got around to. But now that I have it I’d better make some plans โ€“ otherwise I’ve just going to eat the whole lot out of the bag. Bad idea for my teeth and my waist-line, methinks! This could be mixed into home made ice-cream, or coated with tempered chocolate to make some cool sweets.

ย Giant chocolate stars: For the pretties! I’m looking forward to using these on some cupcakes soon ๐Ÿ™‚

ย Dried lavender flowers: At last! I have them! Having tried everywhere in Edinburgh to find them with no luck, by sheer chance Nova sent some ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m thinking Chocolate and Lavender cupcakes or Brownies. Also I can finally make some long-awaited Lavender crรจme Brulee (as made at La Geriggue, Jeffery st, Edinburgh). (See post on Lavender Skolleboller post!)

Poppy seeds: Yup, lemon and poppy seed cake โ€“ om nom nom nom ๐Ÿ™‚ But there are a lot of them, so I’ll have to see what else I can use them in. A topping to a nice loaf of bread, perhaps.

ย Schwartz Piri Piri spice mix: These are a great idea โ€“ rather than just chucking all the spices into one pot this gives you an idea of contents and quantity, which is really useful. I’m looking forward to piri-piri-ing some chicken some time soon.

ย Cosmopolitan drink mix: As Nova said โ€œafter all the bakingโ€, and quite right too! I look forward to relaxing on the sofa with this later on ๐Ÿ™‚

And, of course, a lovely selection of recipes from the North East: Toad in the Hole, Singing Hinnies, Peas Pudding, and Stottie Cake. I’ve always lovely Toad in the Hole, and am thoroughly looking forward to having a go at the other recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

ย So, all in all, I’d say I’ve been very lucky with my first Foodie Penpal ๐Ÿ™‚ An interesting selection of snacks, ingredients and ideas!

ย THANK YOU NOVA โ€“ YOU ARE A STAR!

Right, I’m off on holiday for a week – now the important thing of the day is done, I had better go and pack…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Yay what a great parcel! Chock full of brilliant stuff. Thank you for your kind words at the start, too, I enjoy running FPP but it’s made even more worthwhile when people obviously appreciate the effort and take such joy in the process. I’ve never heard of stottie cake, must look it up and make it immediately. Also singing hinnies, just for the name alone.

    Reply

    • I’ll have a shot at make Stottie Cake when I get back from Hols and will post the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚ Loving the Foodie Penpals concept, and am encouraging friends to get involved! Thank you for all your hard work in running this – it’s great fun!

      Reply

  2. Very interesting read =)

    Reply

  3. Im pleased you liked your package!!!! It was my first time participating in foodie penpals too and i was really nervous ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bead Yarn & Spatula

A Baking, Cooking & Crafting Blog

Roy Ritchie Fitness

Self-educated fitness, nutrition and performance coach that is constantly in pursuit to learn more and share my knowledge and experiences with others.

Food Made With Love

Food cooked and made with all my heart; putting a smile on your face

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

I Heart Swapping

Eco friendly and budget conscience style.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Weights and Wonder

Amazing things around every corner

scarletscorchdroppers

A UK home baking blog

The Spicy Simmer

Find it. Cook it. Love it. Blog it.

Stuff My Brain Thinks

Spiritual Journey to a Better me

..SeriousBacon..

============== A Chef on his Culinary Adventure! ==============

Ramblings from The Trenches

The ramblings of a 30-something wargamer who really should know better by now.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

rhiannon8122

My workout and weight loss journal

The Not So Secret Eater

A 21 year old girl who has decided that enough is enough. My food denial is now in the open!

