Bank holidays, Rosehips and Tobacco: Planning!

Well, I hope everyone is having a lovely Bank Holiday weekend, and have managed to avoid the miserable weather! It has been peeing it down all day here, so the OH and I have sorted out the DVDs and CDs at last – not the most productive use of time, but frankly neither of us care :-p

So, plans for future creations. When I was last visiting the family I told them about the blog and various experiments I’ve been trying. The Earl Grey and Orange Maderia Cake went down very well indeed, and I was asked to make another for a bake sale, along with some of the Pfefferneuse. In the interests of science, Dad produced a bottle of Ardbeg whisky and asked me to make a cake using some of it. If you don’t know Scottish whiskys, Ardbeg is very smoky/peaty, and Dad just finds it a little on the heavy side for drinking. Not being a whisky drinker myself I don’t know a lot about them, but just from the nose on it you can tell that this is a very rich tipple with a lot of complex tones to it.

I was at a bit of a lose as to what to do with it, but I found a recipe for a whisky and chocolate cake which sounds pretty good. But, of course, I couldn’t do anything the straight forward way, could I… Near us is a fab independent chocolate shop (Coco of Bruntsfield, Edinburgh), and when in there buying a gift for a friend recently, I noticed they had chocolate flavoured with tobacco! So, Tobacco Chocolate and Whisky cake is on the cards; I’m hoping the sweetness of the chocolate will lighten the peaty whiskey, and the smoky flavours from the tobacco chocolate will marry up pleasantly with the whisky. I will report back results (and tasting notes from Dad) soon!

My other plan for the near future may involve me having to learn to decorate, possibly using an icing bag *sigh*. I’m not a fan of doing complicated icing myself (because it ALWAYS goes wrong) but I think this is a recipe that may well demand to be pretty. I’ve mentioned previously that I make yoghurt cakes reasonably regularly, and am trying to branch out, but I think that Lime Yoghurt Cupcakes with Rosehip Buttercream Icing might well be a good reason to go back to a classic base recipe. I keep meaning to make my own rosehip syrup, but always forget until it’s too late. However, Lakeland currently have bottles of the stuff available, which will allow me to have a go at using it until I actually get around to making my own. If you’ve ever used it, you’ll know that Rosehip Syrup is super sweet, and I think it would be best contrasted with something quite fresh and sharp to lift it, hence the lime. The other option would be to flavour the cake with the rosehip and do a lime icing, but that may have to be a water icing rather than buttercream. I may even do both, just to see what happens!

Anyway, those are my thoughts at the moment – will report back soon 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Tobacco Chocolate and Whisky Cake sounds delicious! I had once made a chocolate cake with Laphroaig and made a vanilla Laphroaig buttercream for a friends birthday. Quite nice, yet strong! The peat pairs well with dark chocolate. Ardberg sounds like a better choice. Excited to hear how it turns out!

    Reply

  2. I may ever so slightly have eaten the tobacco chocolate before I had a chance to experiment :-p Will work on that one once I’ve bought some more 🙂 Will be making a normal chocolate and whiskey cake tomorrow for my Dad, so will post that one soon. In the mean time I have some coconut yogurt scones with lime curd which need writing up! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bead Yarn & Spatula

A Baking, Cooking & Crafting Blog

Roy Ritchie Fitness

Self-educated fitness, nutrition and performance coach that is constantly in pursuit to learn more and share my knowledge and experiences with others.

Food Made With Love

Food cooked and made with all my heart; putting a smile on your face

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

I Heart Swapping

Eco friendly and budget conscience style.

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Weights and Wonder

Amazing things around every corner

scarletscorchdroppers

A UK home baking blog

The Spicy Simmer

Find it. Cook it. Love it. Blog it.

Stuff My Brain Thinks

Spiritual Journey to a Better me

..SeriousBacon..

============== A Chef on his Culinary Adventure! ==============

Ramblings from The Trenches

The ramblings of a 30-something wargamer who really should know better by now.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

rhiannon8122

My workout and weight loss journal

The Not So Secret Eater

A 21 year old girl who has decided that enough is enough. My food denial is now in the open!

